Jon Hassell

Jon Hassell

[1937 - 2021] Jon Hassell was an American experimental trumpet player, keyboard player and composer from Memphis, best known for developing the concept of "Fourth World" music, blending World music with electronic elements.

he worked with numerous artists over his career, including Brian Eno, David Sylvian, Theatre of Eternal Music, Talking Heads, Farafina, Peter Gabriel, Tears for Fears, Ani DiFranco, Techno Animal, Ry Cooder, Moritz von Oswald, and Carl Craig.

As a front-man, he released his debut album, "Vernal Equinox" in 1977, followed by: "Earthquake Island" (1978), "Fourth World, Vol. 1: Possible Musics" (1980), "Dream Theory in Malaya: Fourth World Volume Two" (1981), "Aka/Darbari/Java: Magic Realism" (1983), "Power Spot" (1986), "The Surgeon of the Nightsky Restores Dead Things by the Power of Sound" (1987), "Flash of the Spirit" (1988), "Dressing for Pleasure" (1994), "Sulla Strada" (1995), "The Vertical Collection" (1997), "Fascinoma" (1999), "Hollow Bamboo" (2000), "Maarifa Street: Magic Realism Volume Two" (2005), "Last Night the Moon Came Dropping Its Clothes in the Street" (2009), "City: Works of Fiction" (2014), "Listening to Pictures" (2018), plus 2020's: "Seeing Through Sound".

More ...