Jefferson Starship

Jefferson Starship

San Francisco-based band formerly known as Jefferson Airplane and formed in the '70s. They shortened their name to Starship in the '80s, before reinstating the 'Jefferson' in 1990.

The line-up included: Paul Kantner - vocals and guitar, David Freiberg - vocals and guitar, Cathy Richardson - vocals, Slick Aguilar - lead guitar, Chris Smith - keyboards and Donny Baldwin - drums.

Releases under the Jefferson Starship and Starship names include the albums "Red Octopus", "Spitfire" and "Knee Deep in the Hoopla" (as Starship) plus the hit singles "Jane" and the Starship smashes, "We Built This City" and "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now".

Founder member Paul Kantner passed away in 2016.

More ...