- Image: Kraftwerk


Acclaimed, award-winning, influential and heavily-sampled German electronic-pop outfit formed in 1970 (after Organisation). They announced their first UK tour for 13 years in 2016.

Current members include Ralf Hütter - lead vocals, vocoder, synthesizers, Fritz Hilpert - electronic percussion, sound engineering, Henning Schmitz - electronic percussion and Stefan Pfaffe - video technician and visuals. Classic ex-members include Wolfgang Flür, Karl Bartos, Emil Schult and the late Florian Schneider.

Beginning as a progressive electro-rock band with early self-titled albums, Kraftwerk made a breakthrough with 1974's "Autobahn".

Other key works include "Trans Europe Express", "Man Machine" and "Computer World", plus the often-copied and sampled tracks "The Model", "Autobahn", "Trans-Europe Express", "Showroom Dummies", "Neon Lights", "Numbers", "Man Machine", "The Robots", "Pocket Calculator", "Computer Love" and "Tour de France".

More ...