- Image: Modern English

Modern English

British darkwave/alt-rock/new wave band formed in 1979, split in 1987 and 1991 and reformed in 1995.

Key members have included Robbie Grey - vocals, Gary McDowell - guitars, Michael Conroy - bass, Richard Brown - drums and Stephen Walker - synths.

Early darker material includes "Mesh and Lace" and the singles "Gathering Dust" and "Swans On Glass", before it developed into atmospheric rock such as "After the Snow" and "Ricochet Days", all on 4AD. Their most familiar indie-chart hits include "I Melt With You", "Chapter 12" and "Smiles and Laughter".

Grey has also guested on This Mortal Coil recordings.

The band issued the EP Not My Leader and album 1234 in 2024.

More ...