The The

The The

Alt-pop outfit formed by singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Matt Johnson in 1979.

Many different musicians have passed through the ranks including Johnny Marr, Zeke Manyika, Gail Ann Dorsey, Mark Feltham and Johnny Marr.

Key releases include the debut single "Controversial Subject"/"Black and White", "Uncertain Smile", "This Is The Day", "Heartland", "The Beat(en) Generation", "Slow Emotion Replay" and "I Saw The Light".

Johnson had previously courted controversy in the late '80s with the video-album "Infected" and it's politically inclined lyrics.

The The's more recent work includes the soundtracks to Tony, Moonbug and Hyena as well as the RSD 2017 single We Can't Stop What's Coming.

Matt Johnson announced the outfit's first concerts in 16 years for 2018.

More ...
Collins Barracks
Usher Hall
The Halls [formerly Civic Hall]
Alexandra Palace
O2 Apollo