Shakti are a jazz/ world fusion band formed in 1974 by English guitarist, John McLaughlin, Indian violin player L. Shankar, percussionists Zakir Hussain (on tabla) and T. H. "Vikku" Vinayakram (on Ghatam), following the dissolution of the first incarnation of the Mahavishnu Orchestra.

As of 2023, the band features founder member, John McLaughlin and Zakir Hussain, plus vocalist, Shankar Mahadevan, violinist Ganesh Rajagopalan, and percussionist Selvaganesh Vinayakram (the son of original ghatam player, T.H. "Vikku" Vinayakram).

They released their debut album, "Shakti with John McLaughlin" in 1976, followed by: "A Handful of Beauty" (also 1976), plus 1977's: "Natural Elements".

More ...