Fairport Convention

Fairport Convention

English folk band formed in the late 60s - credited as being the first electric folk band.

Current line-up features Simon Nicol, Dave Pegg, Ric Sanders, Chris Leslie and Gerry Conway. Former influential fiddle-player Dave Swarbrick died in 2016.

The band received a "Lifetime Achievement" award from the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards in 2002.

Key releases include "Unhalfbricking", "Liege and Lief" and "Full House".

More ...