Tower of Power

Tower of Power

Tower of Power are an Oakland-based, American brass-funk band from California formed in 1968, originally as "The Motowns". The line-up has featured Emilio Castillo - backing/ lead vocals, Stephen Kupka - saxophone/ songwriting, David Garibaldi - drums, Larry Braggs - vocals, Roger Smith - keys, Tom E. Politzer - saxophone, Adolfo Acosta - trumpet, Michael Bogart - trumpet/ trombone/ flugelhorn and Mark Harper - bass.

They released their debut album, "East Bay Grease" in 1970, followed by: "Bump City" (1972), "Tower of Power" (1973), "Back to Oakland" (1974), "In the Slot" (1975), "Urban Renewa" (1975), "Ain't Nothin' Stoppin' Us Now" (1976), "We Came to Play!" (1978), "Back on the Streets" (1979), "Direct" (1981), "TOP" (1986), "Power" (1987), "Monster on a Leash" (1991), "T.O.P." (1993), "Souled Out" (1995), "Direct Plus" (1997), "Rhythm & Business" (1997), "Oakland Zone" (2003), "The Great American Soulbook" (2009), "Soul Side of Town" (2018), plus 2020's: "Step Up".

Founder member, bass player Francis "Rocco" Prestia passed away in 2020.

More ...