The Stranglers

The Stranglers

British punk, new-wave and pop-rock outfit formed in 1974 in Guildford.

Key members have included Jean-Jacques Burnel (bass and vocals), Jim McCauley (drums), Dave Greenfield (keyboards and vocals) and Baz Warne (guitar and lead vocals).

Original co-founder and songwriter Hugh Cornwell left in 1990 to pursue a solo career while drummer Jet Black retired in 2015 and passed away in 2022. Keyboard player Dave Greenfield passed away in 2020.

The band's many familiar and key songs include 'Peaches', 'No More Heroes', 'Something Better Change', 'Golden Brown', 'Always The Sun', 'Strange Little Girl' and 'Who Wants The World'.

They released their debut album "Rattus Norvegicus" in 1977, plus "No More Heroes" (also 1977), "Black and White" (1978), "The Raven" (1979), "La Folie" (1981), "The Gospel According to the Meninblack" (1981), "Feline" (1983), "Aural Sculpture" (1984), "Dreamtime" (1986), "All Live and All of the Night" (1988), "10" (1990), "Stranglers in the Night" (1992), "About Time" (1995), "Written in Red" (1997), "Coup de Grace" (1998), "Norfolk Coast" (2004), "Suite XVI" (2006), "Giants" (2012), plus 2021's: "Dark Matters".

More ...
All the Fun of the Fair
The former Strangler will return with a double live album and tour in the autumn entitled All the Fun of the Fair - guests on tour, EXTC (the official XTC offshoot) - Tickets on sale now - #PostPunk
51 days ago