- Image: Shonen Knife

Shonen Knife

All-girl punk-pop trio from Osaka, formed in 1981.

Key members include: Naoko Yamano, Etsuko Nakanishi and Ritsuko Taneda.

They came to prominence in the early to mid-90s during the grunge era, gaining Nirvana and Sonic Youth as fans.

The band have had success in Japan as well as brief glimpses of glory in the States and UK, where they were signed to Creation Records for a while.

Releases since 1982 include "Minna Tanoshiku", "Let's Knife" and "Osaka Ramones", "Pop Tune", "Overdrive" and 2016's: "Adventure".

More ...