The Brand New Heavies The Brand New Heavies

The Brand New Heavies

Friday 1st Nov 2024

location_city Sheffield University Students Union/ Foundry, Sheffield

The Brand New Heavies

The Brand New Heavies are a UK acid-jazz and soul band formed in Ealing in 1985, with their best-known line-up including Jan Kincaid (drums/ vocals), Simon Bartholomew (vocals, guitar), Andrew Levy (bass) and singers N'dea Davenport/ Angela Ricci.

Their key period was the early to mid 90s with hits that included "Midnight At The Oasis", "Never Stop", "Dream On Dreamer", "Spend Some Time", "Sometimes", "You've Got A Friend" and "Back To Love".

They released their debut album, "The Brand New Heavies" in 1990, followed by: "Heavy Rhyme Experience, Vol. 1" (1992), "Brother Sister" (1994), "Shelter" (1997), "We Won't Stop" (2003), "Allabouthefunk" (2004), "Get Used to It" (2006), "Dunk Your Trunk" (2011), "Forward" (2013), "Sweet Freaks" (2014), plus 2019's: "TBNH".

Singers have included N'Dea Davenport, Siedah Garrett, Carleen Anderson, Nicole Russo and Honey Larochelle.

Founder member Jan Kincaid left the band in 2015.

Sheffield University Students Union/ Foundry

Western Bank
South Yorkshire
S10 2TG



0114 222 8777