The Unthanks

The Unthanks

The Unthanks are an award-winning Northumberland-based folk band (formerly known as Rachel Unthank and the Winterset), featuring Rachel and Becky Unthank on vocals and instruments.

Their album discography includes "Cruel Sister" and "The Bairns", the latter being nominated for the 2008 Mercury Music Prize (it won the 2008 Best Album at the BBC Folk Awards instead).

In 2012 they released the album The Unthanks with Brighouse and Rastrick Brass Band, while in 2015 they garnered acclaim for the 2015 album, "Mount The Air", with other releases including: "The Songs and Poems of Molly Drake" (2017), "Lines" (2019) and 2022's: "Sorrows Away".

More ...