The Boys of the Lough

The Boys of the Lough

Celtic-folk group formed of Northern Irish and Scottish musicians.

The band formed in the early 70s and key members include: Dave Richardson - mandolin, cittern, accordions and composing, Kevin Henderson - fiddle, Cathal McConnell - flute, whistle and vocals, Brendan Begley - accordian and vocals, Garry O'Briain - guitar, piano and mandocello.

Original members included Aly Bain, Dick Gaughan and Robin Morton.

Their first album (self-titled) appeared in 1973 and they have made over a dozen more since.

Although traditionally a straight folk ensemble, their 2009 set featured a mixture of Americana and celtic influences.

More ...