All the Young get older and wiser with award nominations, supporting Kaiser Chiefs and a 2012 UK headline tour!

Posted: 9th January 2012
Ren Harvieu

Faced with the prospect of waking up to another drab day, opening your front door and living in a forgotten, downtrodden town (not always the town's fault, you understand), you begin to ask "What shall I do next with my life?". If you've any interest in anything musical, you form a band or go back to bed. Thankfully, the Dooley brothers, Ryan and Jack, plus Will Heaney and David Cartwright opted for the former a couple of years back - they tagged themselves All The Young (after previously electing the bland New Education as band moniker) and haven't looked back.

Staying true to their roots is something that All The Young have been doing since their first single, 'The First Time', blasted forth - they regularly play in their Stoke hometown, that's when they're not busy supporting other more established acts such as The Wombats and soon-to-be-touring-with Kaiser Chiefs. If you're due to grab yourself a 'Ruby, Ruby, Ruby' in the coming weeks, it'll be worth catching these boys on the earlier support shift - they make a sparky, spiky noise.

With a new album set for release during February, featuring the singles 'Quiet Night In' and 'Welcome Home' as well as that aforementioned sharp little debut single, All The Young have just announced a tour of their own. Currently, the opening night is in Newcastle on 21st March, followed by Keele, Manchester, Birmingham, Nottingham and Brighton on the 29th. Tickets are on sale from Wednesday morning (some at 9am, some at 9.30), priced at £7 or £8.

The sharp-eyed will have noticed that All The Young are also playing a show in Manchester, under the banner of Next Big Thing 2012 - they've only gone and got themselves nominated. AND they've also been added to the XFM 12 for 2012 list, with both awards brands sharing the spoils at Manchester's Ritz on 8th Feb - tickets cost £10, plus you get support from Dry the River and the excellent nominee Ren Harvieu.

Paul Pledger