Johnny Cash on the Snoop Dogg tip for new remix album

Posted: 2nd April 2009
Snoop Dogg

Snoop Dogg and Johnny Cash - not usually names you'd expect to utter in the same sentence, but as of 15th June 2009, two names which will be linked by the release of the album 'Johnny Cash Remixed'.

Working with the late Johnny Cash's son, John Carter Cash, and Mathew Knowles, Snoop Dogg was the executive producer for the project, which features remixes by Alabama 3, Pete Rock, Apparat, Count de Money, Buck 65, The Heavy, Mocean Worker, Machine Drum and many more.

Speaking of the project, John Carter Cash - executive producer of the award-winning Johnny Cash biopic 'Walk the Line' - had this to say:

My father made his stead defying the expected and accepted way of things. He set the standard at the same time. He would have loved this remix record. While it stays true to the original recordings, the CD touches on undiscovered ground. My father was about staying true to tradition while creating groundbreaking music.

The album will be released on CD and limited edition CD+DVD on Edel entertainment's recently launched international rock music label earMUSIC on 15th June - tracklisting below.


  1. Get Rhythm (Philip Steir Remix)
  2. Big River (Count de Money Remix)
  3. Country Boy (Sonny J Remix)
  4. I Walk The Line (QDT Muzic Remix)
  5. Doin' My Time (The Heavy Remix)
  6. Leave That Junk Alone (Alabama 3 Remix)
  7. Port of Lonely Hearts (Midnight Juggernauts Remix)
  8. Folsom Prison Blues (Pete Rock Remix)
  9. Straight A's in Love (Troublemaker Remix)
  10. Sugartime (Kennedy Remix)
  11. Rock Island Line (Wolf Remix)
  12. Belshazzar (Machine Drum Remix)
  13. I Heard That Lonesome Whistle Blow (Apparat Remix)
  14. Bonus Track: Wide Open Road (Count de Money Remix)
  15. Bonus Track: Trail to Mexico (Mexican Institute of Soul Remix)
  16. Bonus Track: Hey Porter (Mocean Worker Remix)
  17. Bonus Track: Katy Too (DJ Enjay Remix)
  18. Bonus Track: My Treasure (J Scott G Remix)

Bonus DVD

1. "Johnny Cash Remixed" Documentary

Daniel O'Connell